Healthy Alternatives to Unhealthy Behaviours

There are many reasons I can fall into unhealthy behaviours to soothe stress:

  1. Treat myself with a special reward I really want
  2. Comfort myself, soothing and licking my wounds of discomfort
  3. Escape reality: pressures, disappointments, limitations
  4. Change state of body, get outside and away from discomfort
  5. Recreation and entertainment of routine buying, eating, tasting
  6. Exert sense of freedom and choice, being selfish in my desires
  7. Act in congruence with mood: give up, self-pity, self-punish, wallow
  8. Show others I have a serious problem, externalize the pain, get help
  9. Stay safe with the familiar of what I know and what I can avoid
  10. Taste something delicious, sweet, satisfying, and normal

After reading about Willpower and Habit, I will experiment with other ways to satisfy the habits I aim to replace:

1. Treat myself with a special reward I really want

  • Buy something small like a magazine or home/personal gadget
  • Get a massage from my boyfriend or professionally
  • Get a spa experience like makeup or nails

2. Comfort myself, soothing and licking my wounds in safety

  • Get a new hobby like learning to cook healthy meals
  • Smell candles envisioning my safe place (luxury hotel)
  • Snuggle with my boyfriend and vent, ask for soothing

3. Escape reality: pressures, disappointments, limitations

  • Meditate
  • Yoga
  • Bath

4. Change state of body, get outside and away from discomfort

  • Walk outside
  • Hold ice pack or warm beverage
  • Watch an engaging movie

5. Recreation and entertainment of routine buying, eating, tasting

  • Cleaning routine
  • Go to a movie
  • Play a game

6. Exert sense of freedom and choice, being selfish in my desires

  • Draw or write or sing or dance however I want
  • Buy a day pass and go or do whatever I want
  • Tell my boyfriend exactly how to massage me

7. Act in congruence with mood: give up, self-pity, self-punish, wallow

  • Journal and find a similar movie
  • Listen to music, sing and dance
  • Cry or yell, stomp and kick

8. Show others I have a serious problem, externalize the pain, get help

  • Tell my boyfriend, mom, or close friend by text, phone, or in person
  • Write on my blog or a forum
  • Make an appointment to tell my doctor or therapist

9. Get energy to get through fatigue and draining activities

  • Coffee with fat and flavouring, mindfully, without distraction
  • Take a break from draining activities and rest or sleep
  • Take magnesium/calcium/melatonin to sleep; caffeine to wake

10. Taste something delicious, sweet, satisfying, and normal

  • Bowl of berries and yogurt or nut butter eaten mindfully without distraction
  • Bowl of mango or pineapple with dark chocolate mindfully without distraction
  • Chocolate flavoured protein shake – mindfully, of course, without distraction
4 thoughts on “Healthy Alternatives to Unhealthy Behaviours

      • Yes, sometimes though 🙂 When people around me are happy and everything just seems to be going perfectly, I focus more on health. I love stationery (It’s a strange fetish :P) and I love books so I sometimes buy myself a book or something that interests me instead of spending on food that I don’t really need. But the thing is, if all this goes on for long, I feel like I have started spending too much but when the same money is being spent on food, I hardly feel a thing 😛 I need to find more alternatives for myself.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

