Attention: Mindful Meditation FTW

A common place to find me is on my computer in front of TV. My boyfriend is often playing a video game in front of TV. Add the third distraction of a cell phone, and you have my typical state of divided attention.

When I did the free week of Headspace, I actually found improved ability to sit calmly and focus on the guided meditation. It’s a good place to start. Once you have that skill, you can bring mindful meditation to walking, yoga, and other relaxing activities. Some people find running meditative – I haven’t gotten there. 

Chade-Meng Tan, Google’s Emotional Intelligence (EI) expert, teaches mindfulness and meditation for self-awareness, self-regulation, motivation, empathy, and social skills. He believes daily practice can change your life in seven weeks. Check out his TED talk:

Incorporating these practices can improve your inner well-being and outer success, plus it’s contagious. Leading by example can help those around you develop compassion. Together, I don’t think it’s outlandish to bring peace and happiness to an entire organization, or even a whole society. Chade-Meng Tan agrees.

Leave a Reply

