Empower the Best of Your People by Decoding Your Company

If you’ve read my blog, you know how interested I am in the Quantified Self: from schedule planning to pedometers. I also use the Sleep as Android app on my phone, as well as a heart rate variability biofeedback tool called emWave. Knowing I’m being measured motivates me to take those extra steps and get to bed on time. Furthermore, it gives me invaluable feedback about me, specifically me, so I can tweak, for instance, when I have coffee or how much time I set aside for a task in the future.

Recently, I read about the Decoded Company, which is talent-centric, data-driven, flexible, and fast – essentially, continuously improving for its employees using something of a “Quantified Organization” approach, if you will.

For instance, the book describes the first time someone does something as a teachable moment. Over time, they should be given more freedom, but one-size-fits-all policies and processes restrict this approach. Empathetic tools, on the other hand, allow personalization at the level of recommendations from Amazon and Netflix, or the guidance from Google Maps.

To get a sense of how this book can help at any level of management or HR, check out their free self-assessment.

Leave a Reply

